Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Corn Free? Many passover foods contain corn

Just a reminder to those who observe passover. Even though it should not be in passover foods, corn can be found in many passover foods including corn syrup. Make sure you read labels carefully if you are unable to have corn.

1 comment:

William said...

Sephardic Jews (Spanish descent) are permitted to use corn and corn products for Pesach. Ashkenazi Jews are not. Since many Israeli's are Sephardic, Ashkenazi Jews need to be careful when purchasing food products that come from Israel. Garden Fresh carries a wide array of products from Israeli, so if shopping there, one needs to be especially careful to read the labels and check ingredients. This occurs often with candy and bubble gum coming from Israel. The ingredient to watch for is "glucose" which is corn syrup. Hope you find this helpful!